Welcome to our new website! Supported by the Adapt Fund of the Australia Council for the Arts.

Chris Edwards, O Sonata

Sale price

  • - 0%
  • Regular price $25.00
    ( / )
    Tax included.

    O Sonata is a suite of renditions — performances, interpretations, transliterations, transmogrifications — of Rainer Maria Rilke’s Sonette an Orpheus, presented here as a parallel text. Dramatising the mythic role of Orpheus as “futile Male”, Chris Edwards’ renditions also comprise interrogations of the lyric impulse, transported to an “Underland” where “becoming begets begone.” 

    You can sample some of the Rilke renditions on lyrikline and learn more about Chris Edwards with Pam Brown at Jacket2.

    Chris Edwards lives in Sydney, where he works as a freelance editor, typographer and graphic designer. He has published poetry in a variety of Australian journals and online at Jacket and Poetry International. His publications include utensils in a landscape (Vagabond Press, 2001) and A Fluke: A mistranslation of Stéphane Mallarmé’s “Un coup de dés ...” (Monogene, 2005). In 2012, his first full-length collection, People of Earth, was published by Vagabond Press, and this was followed in 2014 by the slim but sensational After Naptime






    Chris Edwards, O Sonata: Rilke Renditions
    2016. 128pp. ISBN 978 1 922181 45 9
     Release date: April 2016


    Review of 'utensils in a landscape'
    Mini-mention by Nick Montfort in post position

    Reviews of 'After Naptime'
    Review by Michael Farrell in The Australian
    Review by Robert Wood in foam:e
    Experimental review by Eddie Hopely in Cordite
    [Excerpt from] Review by Des Cowley in Australian Book Review

    Product reviews