We're a small press working out of a love for new writing and innovation in publishing. Vagabond Press gratefully acknowledges the visionary individuals and institutions who share our commitment to world literature.



In 2021, we signed up to Buy Me A Coffee in the hope of growing an ongoing support base so that we can keep the lights on. We're grateful to the kind souls willing to shout us a coffee or two once a month over the long haul (Visit membership panel on our BMAC page to join).

Sue Bond (October, 2021)

Adam Aitken (October, 2021)

Kate Lilley (October, 2021)

Adam Gall (October, 2021)

Susan Thomas (October, 2021)

Dan Disney (November, 2021)

Johanna Featherstone (November, 2021)

Pam Brown (November, 2021)



Vagabond Press is assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body.


2021-22 New Work Fund: Dan Disney and Petra White

In early 2021, we opened up a new campaign to fund new titles from Dan Disney and Petra White. In May 2021 we had raised $2,465 from 17 donors. While we didn't reach our goal of $10,200, we took a deep breath and went ahead to press.

Anonymous ($500), Leonie Starnawski ($50), Anonymous ($10), Anonymous ($40), Anonymous ($10), Richard Johnson ($50), Martha Matthews ($100), Anonymous ($200), Roger Shepherd ($10), Junghoon Lee ($50), Anonymous ($50), Eunice Liew ($10), Don and Judy White ($500), Anonymous ($600), Thom Sullivan ($100), Julia Clark ($25).



In late 2020 we tried crowdfunding for the first time using the GoFundMe Platform. We set our target as $17,000 to cover costs related to publishing Funding will contribute to costs related to producing the following titles: LK Holt's 'Capacity', Tanikawa Shuntarō's 'Ordinary People' and Shinkawa Kazue's 'Selected Poems' along with some other bills. Thanks to the generosity of our community of readers, reached 75% of our target in just over a day and hit our target a couple days later. Along with gaining the opportunity to bring out three new collections and get some breathing room, we were given a very clear signal that the work we do is wanted and needed and that we're not in this alone. Heartfelt thanks to everyone who stepped up, chipped in and helped us keep the door opens through 2021.

Pam Brown ($300), Anonymous ($100), Anonymous ($150), Anonymous ($20), Chris Holdaway ($100), Georgina Ballantine ($20), Noel Jeffs SSF ($10), Anonymous ($250), Alex Skovron ($75), Tony Messenger ($50), Anonymous ($2,000), Anonymous ($500), Tobias Ansted ($20), John Thawley ($30), Ian Gibbins ($250), Toby Fitch ($50), Anselm Berrigan ($100), Peter Boyle ($82), Debra Adelaide ($200), Susan Potter ($50), Sandy Libing ($20), Adam Ford ($25), Elizabeth Webby ($300), Martin Duwell ($200), Dan Disney ($100), John Turner ($20), Vivian Luu ($20), DJ Huppatz ($50), Anna Gibbs ($100), Michael Moran ($100), Anonymous ($2,000), Rico Craig ($150), Nick Whittock ($150), Melissa Swann ($50), Liam Ferney ($100), Anonymous ($1,000), Elaine Minor ($100), Catrina Swann ($50), Yasuhiro Yotsumoto ($100), Stuart Barnes ($50), Clare Millar ($20), Anonymous ($10), Ellina Zipman ($18), Hazel Smith ($100), Roger Stuart ($100), Anonymous ($500), Anonymous ($1,000), Luke Best ($100), Kendall Heitzman ($30), Helen Grace ($100), Anonymous ($1,000), Bernadette Brennan ($250), Debbie Lim ($50), Anonymous ($100), Adam Aitken ($50), Carmine Frascarelli ($100), Inez Baranay ($10), Rebecca Jessen ($50), Anonymous ($200), Anonymous ($400), Anonymous ($30), Joel Ephraims ($50), Anonymous ($30), Anders Villani ($50), Anonymous ($20), Eunyun and Tom ($3,600), Vanessa Smith ($100), Anonymous ($30), Beth Yahp ($500), Elizabeth Allen ($500), Julia Clark ($30), Anonymous ($15), Anonymous ($25), Anne Carson ($100).


Heartfelt thanks to the visionary supporters who share our ambition to build an open independent space for new writing in Asia Pacific.

About donating We welcome support from individuals and institutions and will proudly celebrate donations made towards specific projects here as well as in the finished books. If you would like to support a forthcoming title or one of our ongoing lists please get in touch.

$20,000+ Donations of $20,000 or more will support production costs for three or more titles and will help keep us publishing.
$10,000-19,999 Donations of $10,000 or more will support production costs for two or more titles and will help keep us publishing.
$5,000-9,999 Donations of $5,000-9,999 will support production costs of one or more titles and will help keep us publishing.
Peter Boyle (2020) to support the 2020 publication of Poems of Hwang Yuwon, Ha Jaeyoun & Seo Dae-kyung and the second printing of Natalie Harkin's Archival-Poetics.
$2,000-4,999 Donations of $2,000-4,999 will contribute significantly to production costs of one or two titles and will help keep us publishing.
$500-1,999 Donations of $500-1,999 will contribute to production costs of one title and will help keep us publishing.
VB & Sybille Smith (2020) towards the costs of publishing a collection of poetry by Japanese poet Shinkawa Kazue.
Professor Elizabeth Webby (1999) from Southerly which helped establish Vagabond Press.

$50-$499 Donations of $50-499 will contribute to the running costs of the press and will help keep us publishing.

Jane Petkovic (2021)
Anton Pujol (2021)
Edric Mesmer (2021)
Professor Elizabeth Webby (2020)


We celebrate and welcome funded creative partnerships with institutions, universities, and bequests. Learn more.

The Helen Anne Bell Bequest Award
In 2021, the Helen Anne Bell Poetry Bequest Award offers a $40,000 prize. Women poets are invited to submit a collection of poems between 50 to 80 pages to the award. The work should broadly deal with Australian culture in some way; otherwise, there are no restrictions on the subject matter. The prize will be judged by Kate Lilley, Pam Brown and Melinda Bufton. The winning collection will be published by Vagabond Press. 
Visit the Department of English, University of Sydney for more information.


Our readers are our most important supporters. Every single book ordered helps us keep publishing. We want to thank every reader over twenty years who has ordered a book from us and especially the readers below who have supported us year after year.

Elizabeth Webby*
Ann and Tony Stephens*
Jane Allen*
Peter Minter and Kate Fagan*
Peter Brennan and Kylie Yates*
Elizabeth Allen
Pam Brown
Pascalle Burton
Stuart Barnes
Rosalind McFarlane
Brigitta MacDonald
Ian Gibbins
Quincy Phan
James Stewart and Jane Gibian
Michelle Cahill
Nick Whittock
BD Cassidy
Matthew Hall
Ella O'Keefe
Adam Aitken

*Warm thanks to our subscribers who have supported the press over years, subscribing to one of every title.